Update: March 7th

Share This

Daily Update/Action Alert for March 8, 2018

Lost Instructional Time

WV Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Steve Paine, issued a statement today on making up the lost instructional time from the strike. He stated days missed due to strike must be made up; employees that missed 9 days were in fact paid for those 9 days. When it comes to makeup methods, Paine said counties have three basic options:

o   Replace scheduled spring break days with instructional days.

o   Use accrued instructional time banked through longer school days.

o   Utilize available days in June at the end of the school year.

Education bills that are still “alive” as of today:

o   HB 3089 Relating to the adoption of instructional resources for use in the public schools

o   HB 4006 Eliminating the Cabinet Secretary of Education and the Arts and transferring its programs to other agencies

o   HB 4219 Permitting employees of educational services cooperatives to participate in the State Teachers Retirement System

Continue to call and email regarding your concerns about HB 4006, which will be voted on tomorrow in the Senate.

HB 4006 would eliminate the Cabinet Secretary for Education and the Arts, which would result in transferring its programs to other agencies.This would include the  Center for Professional Development and programs like Energy Express and the Governor's Academy. There are too many unanswered questions regarding the capacity of other agencies to maintain these programs at their current level.

Contact these Senate members and express your concerns about HB 4006.

Mitch Carmichael

Mitch.Carmichael@wvsenate.gov  (304) 357-7801

Lynne Arvon    

lynne.arvon@wvsenate.gov       (304) 357-7831

Mike Azinger    

mike.azinger@wvsenate.gov     (304) 357-7970

Craig Blair

craig.blair@wvsenate.gov           (304) 357-7867

Donna J. Boley

donna.boley@wvsenate.gov     (304) 357-7905

Greg Boso

greg.boso@wvsenate.gov           (304) 357-7973

Charles H. Clements

charles.clements@wvsenate.gov (304) 357-7827

Sue Cline

sue.cline@wvsenate.gov             (304) 357-7807

Mark Drennan

mark.drennan@wvsenate.gov   (304) 357-7901

Ryan Ferns        

ryan.ferns@wvsenate.gov         (304) 357-7918

Ed Gaunch        

ed.gaunch@wvsenate.gov         (304) 357-7841

Robert L. Karnes

robert.karnes@wvsenate.gov   (304) 357-7906

Kenny Mann    

kenny.mann@wvsenate.gov     (304) 357-7849

Mike Maroney

mike.maroney@wvsenate.gov   (304) 357-7902

Mark R. Maynard

Mark.Maynard@wvsenate.gov (304) 357-7808

Patricia Rucker

patricia.rucker@wvsenate.gov (304) 357-7957

Randy Smith    

randy.smith@wvsenate.gov       (304) 357-7995

Chandler Swope            

chandler.swope@wvsenate.gov (304) 357-7843

Dave Sypolt      

dave.sypolt@wvsenate.gov       (304) 357-7914

Tom Takubo    

tom.takubo@wvsenate.gov       (304) 357-7990

Charles S. Trump IV

charles.trump@wvsenate.gov   (304) 357-7880

Ryan Weld        

ryan.weld@wvsenate.gov           (304) 357-7984